The Scottish Rite

aasr-200The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry commonly known as simply the Scottish Rite. A Rite is a series of progressive degrees that are conferred by various Masonic organizations or bodies, each of which operates under the control of its own central authority. In the Scottish Rite the central authority is called a Supreme Council.

The thirty-three degrees of the Scottish Rite are conferred by several controlling bodies. 

Degree Number Southern Jurisdiction Northern Jurisdiction
Secret Master Master Traveler
Perfect Master
Intimate Secretary Master of the Brazen Serpent
Provost and Judge
Intendant of the Building
Elu of the Nine Master of the Temple
10° Elu of the Fifteen Master Elect
11° Elu of the Twelve Sublime Master Elected
12° Master Architect Grand Master Architect
13° Royal Arch of Solomon Master of the Ninth Arch
14° Perfect Elu Grand Elect Mason
15° Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword, or Knight of the Eagle Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword
16° Prince of Jerusalem
17° Knight of the East and West
18° Knight Rose Croix Knight of the Rose Croix de Heredom Council of Kadosh
19° Grand Pontiff
20° Master of the Symbolic Lodge Master ad Vitam
21° Noachite, or
Prussian Knight
Patriarch Noachite
22° Knight of the Royal Axe, or
Prince of Libanus
Prince of Libanus
23° Chief of the Tabernacle
24° Prince of the Tabernacle Brother of the Forest
25° Knight of the Brazen Serpent Master of Achievement
26° Prince of Mercy, or Scottish Trinitarian Friend and Brother Eternal
27° Knight of the Sun, or Prince Adept Knight of Jerusalem
28° Knight Commander of the Temple Knight of the Sun, or
Prince Adept
29° Scottish Knight of Saint Andrew Knight of Saint Andrew
30° Knight Kadosh or Knight of the White and Black Eagle Grand Inspector
31° Inspector Inquisitor Knight Aspirant
32° Master of the Royal Secret Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret
33° Inspector General


In England and Wales,  the Rite is known colloquially as the “Rose Croix” or more formally as “The Ancient and Accepted Rite for England and Wales and its Districts and Chapters Overseas” (continental European jurisdictions retain the “Écossais”). The only local bodies are Rose Croix Chapters; many degrees are conferred in name only, and degrees beyond the 18° are conferred only by the Supreme Council itself.

In England, the candidate is perfected in the 18th degree with the preceding degrees awarded in name only. Continuing to the 30th degree is restricted to those who have served in the chair of the Chapter. Elevation beyond the 30th degree is as in Scotland.

In Scotland, candidates are perfected in the 18th degree, with the preceding degrees awarded in name only. A minimum of a two-year interval is required before continuing to the 30th degree, again with the intervening degrees awarded by name only. Elevation beyond that is by invitation only, and numbers are severely restricted.


In Canada, whose Supreme Council was warranted in 1874 by that of England and Wales, the Rite is known as Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. The council is called “Supreme Council 33° Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry of Canada”.

 york-riteYork Rite    small-craft Associated Orders         small-craft Appendant Orders

One thought on “The Scottish Rite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *